About Us

AMA brings unique capabilities to industry leaders and investors. AMA believes that all efforts – from advisory services to principal investing – start with a deep understanding of the underlying industry.

AMA Capital Partners in brief:

  • Established in 1987, AMA is the only merchant banking partnership in the U.S. exclusively focused on the transportation, energy and offshore industries. Proven expertise across a wide spectrum of advisory services including mergers and acquisitions, restructuring distressed companies, capital raising and strategic planning – AMA also manages an active fund to invest equity and mezzanine debt as well as provide asset leasing options to owners and operators – Affiliate of AMA Securities, LLC a registered broker/dealer specializing in M&A advisory, fairness opinions, private placements of securities, and corporate underwriting
  • 12 professionals in New York and Los Angeles
  • Members of AMA also serve or have served on boards of directors of publicly listed companies: Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc., Genco Shipping & Trading, Golar LNG Partners LP, North Atlantic Drilling Limited, Seadrill Limited, Seaspan Corporation and Ship Finance International Limited

AMA provides a unique cross section of skill sets and resources:

  • Pro-active senior level attention from our eight Managing Directors
  • Long-term industry relationships at all levels providing both corporate and asset level insight
  • Direct access to decision makers representing a variety of capital sources seeking investments in different layers of the capital structure
  • AMA is viewed by many as a “bridge” between the financial and operating world – AMA distills the value proposition and has an appreciation for issues related to asset finance
  • We are independent – no ancillary agendas – our success is aligned with that of our clients

Our Team

Jim Dolphin

Managing Director

Paul Leand, Jr.

Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer

Peter Shaerf

Managing Director

Ken Becker

Managing Director

Jens Birkmann

Managing Director

Rick Brock

Chief Financial Officer

Michael Dockman

Managing Director

Tom Goodrich

Managing Director

Kevin O’Hara

Managing Director

Sunil Kurien


Peter Lynch


Peter Cherry


Nick Smith

Managing Agent - Europe

James Dolphin